Realisations

April 2024

On April 19, the AETS D’ARE Festival was held at the Athénée d’Esneux, enabling us to raise funds by selling various desserts.

April 2024

Le Petit Théâtre d’Esneux organized performances of the play “Drôles de Couples” in aid of the Nicolas Gigot Foundation!

March 2024

Nadine Brialmont has been nominated in the Liege citizenship category for Liège’s Citizen of the Year, in recognition of her work with the foundation.

January 2024

On January 26, an optical device was donated to the Roger Salengro Hospital in Lille, a moment of particular significance for two reasons. Firstly, Dr. Anne-Frederique Dalmas, a specialist in hyperthermia, practices there (she was the one who guided those in charge at Lyon’s Croix Rousse hospital by telephone when Nicolas was hospitalized there), and also because it was one of our dear friends; Bruno Vliegen, nicknamed “nounours”, who had the honor of handing over the device. His presence added a very special dimension to the event.

December 2023

On December 11, we handed over another Tobii device to the University Hospital of Antwerp (UZA).

November 2023

We made two key donations in November. The first, a Tobii device, was donated to the Chirec hospital in Braine l’Alleud, followed by another donation to the Jessa hospital in Hasselt on November 7.

June 2023

 At Standard de Rugby’s end-of-year festivities Chaudfontaine and thanks to the support of the Bois de St Jean committee, (through Eric Lhonneux and “Balou”), we have managed to sell all our hamburgers to raise money for the Nicolas Gigot Foundation.

June 2023

We organized a solidarity breakfast thanks to Kaneka Eurogentec.

Over 215 breakfast packs were served, helping to fill the kitty!

May 2023

Creation of a video so that everyone can see the frustration that an immobilized patient can feel. Here is the link:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xhuzES5xUmE

April 2023

On April 15, at the Palais des Princes Evêques in Liège, the foundation was awarded the national medal for encouragement and dedication by the FNED.

April 2023

Hello, thanks to our dessert buffet at the 2023 Are Arts Festival, the prize fund now stands at 13 912,28 € !!!!

We are currently in discussions with various hospitals to donate a tobii machine, and we will also be providing assistance to the Handicap sport.

We’ll keep you posted as soon as possible.

Nadine

March 2023

Hello everyone,
Two Foundation volunteers recently visited Bourg en Bresse and Lyon. Of course, I took part in this little trip, which gave me the chance to see Michelin-starred chef Christian Têtedoie again. It’s true that he’s extraordinary in terms of his gastronomic career: best apprentice at the age of 17, best worker in France in 1996, and since 2011, the supreme title of President of the Master Chefs of France……(you could say so much more …) but it’s above all the human aspect of this rare man that touched me, moved me, even overwhelmed me. Because he’s so sensitive, he’s altruistic (yes, with a capital “A”), he’s a magnificent do-gooder!
This great man was involved in many charitable actions:
– Association Laurette Fugain
– Partnership with the Léon Bérard cancer center
– Sponsor of a charity gala in aid of organ donation
– Association Aidons Marina
– Wonderful help for Clara (creation of a spray: https: //www.youtube.com/watch?v=W1CyJdXQXrU…)
– Gourmet meals at the handishow
– And so on…
But despite all his obligations, I’m happy to announce that he has agreed to become the godfather of the Nicolas Gigot Foundation (without even having known our wonderful Nicolas) in order to help us raise funds to provide hospitals and the disabled with additional aid.
Christian is an angel to us and he’s going to help us organize a big charity Gala, which I’ll get back to you about.
Thanks to him, but you too can take part and work for the Nicolas Gigot Foundation, so that Nicolas continues to exist through you!
Nadine

February 2023

Three students from L’EGC have kindly donated their profits from the soapbox race they organized on October 8, 2022 in Ceyzériat.

Flavie, Elsa and Ugo (on the right in the photo) organized this successful event as part of their studies at the EGC Centrest Business School, where Nicolas Gigot studied.

They therefore wanted to pay tribute to him and continue to honor his memory by supporting the foundation. We had the opportunity to meet them on Monday, February 20, 2023, and chat with them.

The cheque was presented under the nameplate in the amphitheatre, which bears the name of Nicolas Gigot….which means he’s still with us!

September 2022

Hello, as planned in our projects on the foundation’s website, we have FINALLY donated the handisport chair to Geoffrey Dath (as a reminder, Geoffroy is an able-bodied ex-rugby player who, following an operation that went wrong, found himself a quadriplegic. He joined the La Hulpe rugby club team for the love of rugby).

Many thanks again to all of you for your donations, which allow us to put a smile back on many people’s faces.

Nicolas would be so proud of you!

Nadine

A word from Laurent Poupaert, Rugby Club La Hulpe team coach

I’m the coach of Wallonia’s first and only handirugby team, based at La Hulpe rugby club. It’s not easy enough for an official club to receive subsidies or budgets, but for a club just starting out, and in handisport no less, it’s even more complicated.

We started from scratch, 3 months before the covid, which further disrupted my already weakened team. But we’ve bounced back and now have a loyal core team and tournament offers as far afield as Montpellier.

None of this is possible without the help of people like Nadine. I followed the genesis of the Nicolas Gigot Foundation. Simply because I’d been following Nicolas before all this, and that really touched me. I’m also the father of a rugby player, a year older than Nicolas, who left at the same time for France to develop because these kids had talent.

I appealed to the Foundation because Geoffrey, one of my wheelchair players, is a former “classic” rugby player with a strong rugby frame, and he didn’t fit into the classic chairs. So we needed something tailor-made, with the consequent budget that goes with it.

Nicolas’ mom didn’t hesitate for a second when I called on her, and today Geoffrey can really take part in training sessions in comfort.

The Nicolas Gigot Foundation is important to her, but the existence of this type of structure is also fundamental to the world of disability, and this is what Nicolas would have wanted.

On behalf of the entire La Hulpe handirugby team, and indeed the club, I’d like to thank Nadine for bringing a smile to the faces of anonymous people like Geoffrey, through the donation of a magnificent handirugby chair.

I’d also like to thank you, our donors, because without you, none of this would have been possible.

Thank you, Nadine and especially Nicolas!

August 2022

Nadine enlists the help of her “3 funny ladies” (from left to right: Léa, Shauna and Alix) for the flea market in Esneux, which enabled her to close the budget for the purchase of a handirugby chair.

May 24, 2022

On Tuesday, the late Nicolas’ mother went to the intensive care unit at the CHU in Liège to donate the precious “Tobii”. This software would have been a great help to Nicolas and his family if he had had access to it.

“This device will enable us to communicate more easily with patients who are said to be non-communicative. It will enable us to facilitate communication. It’s very important for our department, which is more neurologically oriented. We collaborate with the coma center. So we regularly receive patients in what is known as a coma state. So it will make our work easier,” explains Gaëlle Tronconi, head nurse in the intensive care unit at Liège University Hospital.

An opportunity

A gift that this department welcomes with open arms. “Since I joined the department, this is the first time we’ve received a donation,” adds the head nurse. “I think it’s important for our day-to-day work. We’re going to have to get used to it, to this new tool. The priority, when we want to assess a patient’s neurological condition, is to be able to communicate with them. This is a great opportunity for our department,” she concludes.

By Laura Salamon Journalist La Meuse

May 2022

The Standard Chaudfontaine Rugby Club has decided to rename the ERY challenge the Nicolas Gigot challenge, with part of the proceeds going to the foundation.

So on May 1st, the Nicolas Gigot challenge took place at the Rochette stadium in Chaudfontaine. This international tournament for youngsters (U6-U8-U10-U12), which Standard Chaudfontaine rugby has been organizing for the past 5 years, is by far the biggest youth tournament organized in Belgium. It welcomes an average of 80 teams, or 1,600 players. This event usually takes place on one day (May 1st). But following the severe flooding in July (not all the infrastructure had yet been repaired), the challenge was limited with the Visé agreement. But president Stephano Bravin and his team were determined that this challenge, however minimalist, should take place in support of the Nicolas Gigot Foundation. In fact, Nicolas’ family is very happy and proud to have this challenge named after him!

Thanks to donations from shopkeepers (from Poulseur, Visé, Embourg, Beaufays, Esneux etc.), we were able to hold a tombola during the May 1st challenge, as well as at the Athénée Royal d’Esneux during the famous AER art festival on May 6.

With these 2 raffles and the generous donation from Standard Chaudfontaine Rugby, we raised a total of €3,130.

(photos by Pierre Renson)

October 2021

Philippe Enjolras, aka Fifel, spent over 48 hours creating a polyptych fresco comprising 12 paintings measuring 3m by 1m50, to be auctioned off for the benefit of 6 associations, including our foundation.

Unfortunately, the bidders didn’t turn up, but Fifel’s kindness “struck again” by allowing our foundation to acquire this work for a derisory price (in relation to its value), so that the 5 other associations wouldn’t go home empty-handed and allow us to resell it afterwards, in order to make a nice capital gain (at least, I hope so).

October 25th publication of Fifel, Philippe Enjolras

“Here’s the mural created during the two days of @hashtagfestival01!”

June 2021

First of all, I’d like to give you an update on the TOBII device donated to Lyon’s Croix Rousse hospital.

The head of the intensive care unit, Docteur Guichon, contacted me in mid-June to tell me that the TOBII was virtually useless now that most patients were in a coma, and that it would therefore be more useful in another department.

I thought directly of the tragedy of the young English rugby player, James Lasis:

(BBC NEWS APRIL 28, 2021)

James Lasis: rugby player on life support after scrum collapse

“James Lasis underwent emergency surgery and is on life support.

The family of a 25-year-old rugby player are flying to France to be at his bedside after suffering serious injuries on the field.

Horsted Keynes’ James Lasis is on life support following surgery for a neck injury sustained while playing for Nice.

His mother Judy Lasis said: “He obviously can’t talk because he has tubes inside him, but he’s fully conscious.

“Communication at the moment is through a wink and he has no movement at the moment.”

So I contacted the Pasteur hospital in Nice, and through Madame Durand Sophie (team manager), and following arrangements between the 2 hospitals, the TOBII arrived in the department of Professor Ichi Carole of the polyvalent intensive care unit at Pasteur II in Nice. This enabled James Lasis to correspond not only with his loved ones, but also with the hospital staff. James has since returned to England to continue his convalescence, but the Tobii continues to help others. It is currently used daily by a 55-year-old man and a 42-year-old woman. Out of respect for their privacy, we won’t give away any information about the reasons for their condition or their current situation, because what matters is that this device enables them to leave this world of silence and correspond with the outside world.

So a big thank you to Doctor Guichon and a speedy recovery to James.

Nevertheless, we haven’t forgotten the kind gesture made by Lyon’s Croix Rousse through Doctor Guichon, and through him we’re going to agree to provide further assistance to this hospital.

September 2020

3 days after Nicolas Gigot’s death, his mother wrote on the Facebook page of “tous ensemble dans la mêlée avec Nicolas” (“all together in the scrum with Nicolas”):

“Hello, I’m Nicolas’s mother, and I’m taking the liberty of writing on this page for the first time, because I really want to thank all the generous donors of the fund:

“In support of Nicolas’ fight

Like you, it’s clear that we would have liked him to benefit from this pot of money…but that’s the way it is and we have to accept it!!!!

I thought a lot about what Nicolas would want in these circumstances…”

And that’s how the foundation was created, and the initial fund doubled.

This quickly enabled the “hôpital de la Croix Rousse” of Lyon to get a Tobii. Thanks to this device the patients can communicate with their eyes without any need to blink, and most of all, it uses more than thirty languages.

This device, valued at +/- €15,000 , is one of the few to be accepted in intensive care centers.

Taking the Covid sanitary crisis into account, we’re delighted the device arrived at the right time. And that for our great satisfaction!

Still thanks to your donations, we could offer a suitable wheelchair to Mr Angelo Hernandez who became quadriplegic after a motorbike accident.  See photos.

Indeed, Nicolas had been fully involved in the organization of the “Ainvictus Rugby Tour” 7-a-side and 5-a-side rugby tournament supported by Ainteam Rugby Sevens, which was due to take place in June 2020 and whose profits were to help finance a wheelchair.

Subscribe to our newsletter!

For every subscriber to our newsletter, a generous donor will donate 50 cents to our Foundation. *

Thank you for your support!

* For a maximum amount of 20 000 subscribers.

You wish to make a donation to the Nicolas Gigot Foundation?

We invite you to transfer the amount of your donation to the account BE88 0689 3834 0641 (BIC GKCCBEBB).

Réalisations

Avril 2024

Le 19 avril a eu lieu le Festival d’AETS D’ARE à l’Athénée d’Esneux, nous permettant de récolter des fonds en vendant divers desserts.

Avril 2024

Le Petit Théâtre d’Esneux a organisé des représentations de la pièce « Drôles de Couples » au profit de la Fondation Nicolas Gigot !

Mars 2024

Nadine Brialmont a été nominée dans la catégorie citoyenneté de Liege pour l’élection du liégeois de l’année, en raison de ses actions au sein de la fondation.

Janvier 2024

Le 26 janvier, un appareil optique a été offert à l’hôpital Roger Salengro de Lille, un moment empreint d’une signification particulière pour deux raisons. Tout d’abord, le docteur Anne-Frederique Dalmas, spécialiste de l’hyperthermie, y exerce (c’est elle qui a guidé les responsables de l’hôpital Croix Rousse de Lyon par téléphone lorsque Nicolas y était hospitalisé), et également parce que c’est un des chers amis ; Bruno Vliegen, surnommé « nounours », qui a eu l’honneur de remettre l’appareil. Sa présence a ajouté une dimension toute spéciale à cet événement.

Décembre 2023

Le 11 décembre, nous avons déposé un autre appareil Tobii à l’hôpital universitaire d’Anvers (UZA)

Novembre 2023

 Nous avons concrétisé deux dons essentiels en novembre. Le premier, un appareil Tobii, a été remis à l’hôpital Chirec de Braine l’Alleud, suivi par un autre don à l’hôpital Jessa d’Hasselt le 7 novembre.

Juin 2023

 Lors des festivités de fin d’année du rugby du Standard de Chaudfontaine et grâce au soutien du comité du Bois de St Jean, (par l’intermédiaire d’Eric Lhonneux et « Balou »), nous avons réussi à vendre tous nos hamburgers au profit de la cagnotte de la fondation Nicolas Gigot.

Juin 2023

 On a organisé un petit déjeuner solidaire grâce à la société Kaneka Eurogentec.

 

Ainsi plus de 215 pack « petit déjeuner » ont été servis et cela à permit de remplir la cagnotte !

Mai 2023

Création d’une vidéo pour que chacun puisse se rendre compte de la frustration qu’un patient immobilisé peut ressentir. Voici le lien :https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xhuzES5xUmE

Avril 2023

Ce 15 avril au Palais des Princes Evêques de Liège, la fondation a reçu la médaille nationale de l’encouragement au dévouement des mains de la FNED.

Avril 2023

Bonjour, grâce à notre buffet de desserts, lors du festival d’arts d’Are de 2023, la cagnotte s’élève maintenant à 13 912,28 € !!!!

Nous sommes actuellement en discussion avec divers hôpitaux pour leur faire don d’un appareil tobii et nous allons aussi apporter de l’aide au sport Handicap.

On vous tiendra au courant au plus vite.

Nadine

Mars 2023

Bonjour à tous,
 
Récemment deux bénévoles de la fondation se sont rendus à Bourg en Bresse et Lyon. Un petit voyage auquel j’ai bien sûr, participé et m’a permis de revoir le chef étoilé Christian Têtedoie. Certes il est extraordinaire par son parcours dans la gastronomie ; meilleur apprenti à 17 ans, meilleur ouvrier de France en 1996, et depuis 2011, obtient le titre suprême de président des maitres cuisiniers de France……(on pourrait dire tant encore …) mais c’est surtout l’aspect humain de cet homme rare qui m’a touchée, émue voir même bouleversée. Car il est doté d’une grande sensibilité, il est Altruiste (oui avec un « A » majuscule), d’une magnifique âme bienfaisante !
 
Ce grand Homme, s’est engagé dans de nombreuses actions caritatives :
 
• Association Laurette Fugain
• Partenariat avec le centre Léon Bérard(contre le cancer)
• Parrain d’un gala de charité au profit du don d’organe
• Association Aidons Marina
• Aide magnifique à Clara (création d’un spray : https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W1CyJdXQXrU…)
• Repas gastronomiques au handishow
• Et j’en passe…
 
Mais malgré toutes ses obligations, je suis heureuse de vous annoncer qu’il a accepté de devenir le parrain de la fondation Nicolas Gigot(sans même avoir connu notre merveilleux Nicolas) afin de de nous aider au mieux à récolter des fonds pour offrir aux hôpitaux et aux handicapés des aides supplémentaires.
Christian est un ange pour nous et il va nous aider à organiser un grand Gala caritatif dont je reviendrais vers vous pour les informations.
 
Merci à lui mais vous, vous aussi, vous pouvez participer et œuvrer pour la fondation Nicolas Gigot, pour que Nicolas continu d’exister à travers vous !
 
Nadine

Février 2023

Trois étudiants de L’EGC ont eu la gentillesse de nous reverser leur bénéfice récolté après la course de caisses à savon qu’ils ont organisé le 8 octobre 2022 à Ceyzériat.

Flavie, Elsa et Ugo(à droite sur la photo) ont donc organisé cet événement à succès dans le cadre de leurs études à l’Ecole de Gestion et de Commerce EGC Centrest, école dans laquelle a étudié Nicolas Gigot.

Ils ont donc voulu lui rendre hommage et continuer à honorer sa mémoire en soutenant la fondation. Nous avons eu l’occasion de les rencontrer ce lundi 20 février 2023 et d’échanger avec eux.

La remise du chèque s’est faite sous la plaque nominative de l’amphi qui porte le nom de Nicolas Gigot….comme quoi il est toujours avec nous !

Septembre 2022

Bonjour, comme prévu dans nos projets sur le site de la fondation, nous avons ENFIN offert le fauteuil d’handisport à Geoffrey Dath (pour rappel, Geoffroy est un ex rugbyman valide qui ,à la suite d’une opération qui a mal tournée, s’est retrouvé tétraplégique. Il a rejoint l’équipe du rugby club de la Hulpe par amour du rugby).

Un grand merci encore à vous tous pour les dons que nous permettent de redonner le sourire à beaucoup de personnes

Nicolas serait super fier de vous ! merci !

Nadine

Mot de Laurent Poupaert, entraineur équipe du Rugby Club La Hulpe

Je suis entraîneur de la première et seule équipe de handirugby de Wallonie, dépendante du rugby club La Hulpe. Il n’est déjà pas facile pour un club officiel de percevoir des subsides ou des budgets mais pour un club qui démarre, en handisport de surcroît, c’est encore plus compliqué.

 Nous sommes partis de zéro, 3 mois avant le covid, qui a encore plus perturbé mon équipe, déjà fragilisée. Mais nous avons rebondi et avons maintenant une équipe de base fidèle et des propositions de tournoi jusque Montpellier. 

Tout cela ne se fait pas sans l’aide de personnes comme Nadine. J’ai suivi la genèse de la fondation Nicolas Gigot. Tout simplement parce que je suivais Nicolas avant tout ça et que cela m’a fortement touché. Je suis également papa d’un rugbyman, d’un an plus âgé que Nicolas, et qui est parti en même temps pour la France pour évoluer parce que ces gamins avaient du talent.

J’ai fait appel à la Fondation parce que Geoffrey, un de mes joueurs en chaise roulante, est un ancien joueur de rugby  » classique » avec donc un gabarit de rugbyman costaud, et qu’il ne rentrait pas dans les chaises classiques. Il nous fallait donc du sur mesure, avec le budget conséquent qui va avec.

La maman de Nicolas n’a pas hésité une seconde quand j’ai fait appel à elle et aujourd’hui, Geoffrey peut vraiment participer aux entraînements en étant  » confort ».

La Fondation Nicolas Gigot est importante pour elle, mais que ce type de structure existe est également fondamental pour le monde du handicap et c’est ce que Nicolas aurait voulu.

Au nom de toute l’équipe handirugby de La Hulpe et même du club , je voudrais remercier Nadine de donner le sourire comme je l’ai vu à des anonymes tels Geoffrey par ce don d’une magnifique chaise spécifique handirugby.

Je voudrais vous remercier vous aussi, les donateurs, car sans vous, tout cela ne se serait pas fait.

Merci à Vous, merci Nadine et surtout merci Nicolas!

Août 2022

Nadine se fait aider de « ses 3 drôles de dames «  (de gauche à droite : Léa, Shauna et Alix) pour la brocante d’Esneux qui permet ainsi de clôturer le budget pour acheter une chaises de handirugby.

24 Mai 2022

Ce mardi, la maman du regretté Nicolas s’est rendue au CHU de Liège, dans l’unité des soins intensifs, afin d’offrir le précieux « Tobii ». Un logiciel qui aurait beaucoup aidé Nicolas et sa famille s’il y avait eu accès.

« Cet appareil nous permettra de communiquer plus aisément avec des patients qui sont dits non communicants. Ça nous permettra de faciliter les communications. C’est très important pour notre service qui est à vocation plus neurologique. Nous sommes en collaboration avec le centre du coma. Nous accueillons donc régulièrement des patients en état dit de coma. Ça facilitera donc notre travail », explique Gaëlle Tronconi, infirmière en chef aux soins intensifs du CHU de Liège.

Une opportunité

Un don que ce service accueille avec plaisir. « Depuis que j’ai intégré ce service, c’est la première fois que nous recevons un don », ajoute l’infirmière en chef. « Je pense que c’est important pour notre travail au quotidien. Il va falloir qu’on s’y acclimate, qu’on s’habitue à ce nouvel outil. La priorité, lorsqu’on veut évaluer au niveau neurologique un patient, c’est de pouvoir communiquer avec eux. C’est une grande opportunité pour notre service », termine-t-elle.

Par Laura Salamon Journaliste La Meuse

Mai 2022

Le Standard Chaudfontaine Rugby Club a décidé de rebaptiser le challenge  ERY en challenge Nicolas Gigot en y associant une partie des bénéfices pour la fondation.

Donc ce  1er mai a eu lieu le challenge Nicolas Gigot au stade de la Rochette à Chaudfontaine. Ce Tournoi international pour jeunes (U6-U8-U10-U12) que le Standard Chaudfontaine rugby organise depuis 5 ans, est de loin le plus grand tournoi de jeunes organisé en Belgique. Il accueille en moyenne 80 équipes soit 1600 joueurs. Cet évènement a lieu généralement sur une journée (le 1er Mai). Mais suite aux graves inondations de juillet, (les infrastructures n’étant pas encore toutes réparées), le challenge aura été limité avec l’entente de Visé. Mais le président Stephano Bravin et son équipe ont tenu à ce que ce challenge, même minimalisme, ait lieu afin d’aider la fondation Nicolas Gigot. D’ailleurs la famille de Nicolas est très heureuse et très fière, à la place de celui-ci, que ce challenge porte son nom dorénavant !

Cela a été permis grâces aux dons des commerçants (de Poulseur, Visé, Embourg, Beaufays, Esneux etc…), de faire une tombola lors de ce challenge du 1er mai mais aussi à l’Athénée Royal d’Esneux lors du fameux festival d’art d’ARE le 6 mai.

Avec ces 2 tombolas et le don généreux du Standard Chaudfontaine Rugby, nous avons récolter une somme totale de 3130€.

(photos de Pierre Renson)

Octobre 2021

Philippe Enjolras, à savoir Fifel, a confectionné pendant plus de 48h une fresque polyptique composée de 12 tableaux pour une taille de 3m sur 1m50 afin de les vendre aux enchères au profit de 6 associations dont notre fondation.

Malheureusement, les enchérisseurs ne sont pas venus au rendez-vous, mais la bonté de Fifel a encore « frappé » en permettant à notre fondation d’acquérir cette œuvre pour un prix dérisoire (par rapport à sa valeur), afin que les 5 autres associations ne repartent pas bredouilles et nous permettre de la revendre par après, afin de faire une belle plus-value (du moins, je l’espère).

Publication du 25 octobre de Fifel, Philippe Enjolras

« Voilà la fresque réalisée durant les deux journées du @hashtagfestival01 ! »

Juin 2021

Tout d’abord, je tiens à vous donner des nouvelles de l’appareil TOBII offert à l’hôpital la Croix Rousse de Lyon.

La responsable de la réanimation, Docteur Guichon m’a contacté, mis juin, pour me faire part que le TOBII ne servait quasiment plus vu que la plupart des patients étaient plongés dans un coma et que, par conséquent, il serait de plus grande utilité dans un autre service.

J’ai pensé directement au drame du jeune rugbyman Anglais, James Lasis :

(NEWS DE BBC DU 28 AVRIL 2021) 

James Lasis: joueur de rugby sous assistance respiratoire après l’effondrement de la mêlée 

« James Lasis a subi une intervention chirurgicale d’urgence et est sous assistance respiratoire. 

La famille d’un joueur de rugby de 25 ans doit s’envoler pour la France pour être à son chevet après avoir subi de graves blessures sur le terrain. 

James Lasis, de Horsted Keynes, est sous assistance respiratoire après une opération pour une blessure au cou subie alors qu’il jouait à Nice. 

Sa mère Judy Lasis a déclaré: « Il ne peut évidemment pas parler parce qu’il a des tubes à l’intérieur de lui, mais il est pleinement conscient. 

« La communication pour le moment se fait par un clin d’œil et il n’a aucun mouvement pour le moment. » 

J’ai donc pris contact avec l’hôpital Pasteur à Nice et par l’intermédiaire de Madame Durand Sophie (manager d’équipe) et suite aux arrangements entre les 2 hôpitaux, le TOBII est arrivé au service du professeur Ichi Carole de la réanimation polyvalente de Pasteur II à Nice. Cela a permis à James Lasis de correspondre avec ses proches, mais aussi avec le personnel de l’hôpital. Depuis James est retourné en Angleterre pour continuer sa convalescence, mais il n’en demeure pas moins que le Tobii continue à aider d’autres personnes. Actuellement, il sert quotidiennement à un homme de 55 ans et une dame de 42 ans. Par respect pour leur vie privée, nous ne donnerons aucun renseignement du pourquoi de leur état et de leur situation actuelle, car ce qui compte, c’est que cet appareil leur permet de quitter ce monde de silence et de correspondre avec le monde extérieur.

Alors un tout grand merci au Docteur Guichon et un prompt rétablissement pour James.

Il n’en demeure pas moins, que nous n’oublions pas le beau geste de la Croix Rousse de Lyon par l’intermédiaire du Docteur Guichon et par son intermédiaire, nous allons convenir d’une autre aide à cet hôpital.

Septembre 2020

3 jours après le décès de Nicolas Gigot, la maman de ce dernier intervenait sur la page Facebook de « tous ensemble dans la mêlée avec Nicolas » :

« Bonjour, je suis la maman de Nicolas, je me permets pour la première fois d’intervenir sur cette page, car il me tient à cœur de remercier tous les généreux donateurs de la cagnotte :

« En soutien au combat de Nicolas »

Comme vous, il est clair que nous aurions tant voulu qu’il profite de cette cagnotte …mais c’est ainsi et nous devons l’accepter !!!

J’ai beaucoup réfléchi à ce que Nicolas voudrait dans ces circonstances… »

Et c’est ainsi que la fondation fut créée et la cagnotte initiale fut doublée.

Ce qui permit très vite d’offrir un Tobii à l’hôpital de la Croix Rousse de Lyon. Cet appareil permet de correspondre rien qu’avec les yeux sans devoir les cligner et surtout il possède plus d’une trentaine de langues.

Cet appareil, d’une valeur de +/- 15000 €, est un des seuls à être accepté dans les centres de réanimations.

Vu la cause sanitaire, on parle évidement de ce fameux covid, cet appareil est arrivé « à point » ! Et cela pour notre grande satisfaction !

Toujours grâce aux dons, nous avons pu offrir à Mr. Angelo Hernandez, paraplégique suite à un accident de moto, un fauteuil roulant adapté.  Voir photos.

En effet, Nicolas s’était totalement impliqué dans l’organisation du tournoi de rugby à 7 et à 5 « Ainvictus Rugby Tour » porté par Ainteam Rugby Sevens, qui devait se dérouler en juin 2020 et dont les bénéfices devaient aider au financement d’un fauteuil.

Abonnez-vous à notre newsletter !

Pour chaque abonné à notre newsletter, un généreux donateur s’engage à reverser 50 cents à notre Fondation.

Merci pour votre soutien ! *

* Pour un nombre maximal de 20.000 abonnés.

Vous souhaitez effectuer un don à la Fondation Nicolas Gigot ?

Nous vous invitons à verser le montant de votre don sur le compte BE88 0689 3834 0641 (BIC GKCCBEBB).